Women's Issues In Guyana


Of road hogs and bullies

Posted in Culture & Society by wiig on May 17, 2007
Tags: , , ,

Kaieteur News – May 18, 2007

Dear Editor,

I express my disgust at some of the drivers we have on the road.

On Tuesday, 15 May, 2007, at approximately 16:47hrs, I was driving along in the outer lane of the East Coast highway on my way home. There was a long traffic built-up as a result of police presence in the Plaisance area.

Anyway, the traffic had stalled for about 30 seconds, and there was a car about five metres in front of me. As the traffic began to flow, a black Toyota Marino car coming from the inside lane dashed in front of me. Of course, it touched my car but, thank God, my car wasn’t scraped because I was able to brake instantly. However, the driver of the car, a middle aged man, quickly emerged from that car. I was hoping he was coming to apologise to me, but, instead, to my horror, he started to verbally abuse me, and it was only left for him to hit me.

I eventually drove away because I was fearful for my life. I am a female driver, and I take the five Cs very seriously when driving. This is just an example of how many other women are being bullied and verbally abused by male drivers daily when driving. I chose not to report this matter to the police because I know of the long hours I would have to waste and not get any satisfaction.

Elizah Jones

Leave a Reply

